2017 MAA Convention Roundup

The Montana Auctioneers Association held its annual state convention in Scobey, Montana over the weekend of January 27th – 28th. As part of the organization’s tradition, the convention includes industry-related seminars, an annual business meeting, and the State Bid-Call Championship. Thirty-five auctioneers gathered from around the state for the event.

This year, a special honor was given to Rod Tande, a long-time member and auctioneer from northeast Montana, as he was inducted into the MAA Hall of Fame. Tande was given a lifetime membership and a plaque signifying the achievement. Ed Hinton, former MAA President and longtime friend and colleague of Tande’s, gave the induction speech. After graduating from the Western College of Auctioneering in 1975, Tande began his auction career. He became a member of the MAA in 1981 and served as Vice President in 1998 and 1999, then was elected as state president in 2000 and again in 2001. He twice received accolades for his clear, crisp, rhythmic auction chant placing 1st runner up in 1998 and 2nd runner up in 2002 in the state championship bid calling contest.

Tande became the “voice of Northeastern Montana” during his long career. Whether selling one of his many auctions or in the crow’s nest announcing a rodeo, his knowledge of the job, quick wit and professionalism was appreciated by his many listeners.

Friends and colleagues are quick to note how Tande was always eager to help other auctioneers advance their careers, giving young auctioneers a chance to take the stage and sell with him. He would lead by example with integrity, honesty and professionalism.

Tande officially retired from the business in 2015 and currently lives in Yuma, Arizona with his wife Charle, enjoying the warm weather and grandchildren.

Other Hall of Fame members include Fritz Hoppe, Bob Thomas, Morris Gardner, Del Strommen, Frank Bass, Ron Granmoe, Gus Bender, John Mandeville, Bob Penfield, Rick Stahl, Jerry & Gayle Ellis and Tex Pate.

The 2017 MAA Bid-Call Championship showcased 13 pro-division contestants, and 3 rookies (those who have been in the auction business for three years or less). The contestants were judged on their professionalism and poise, auction chant, rhythm, timing, bid catching ability, and judge’s desire to hire the auctioneer. Each contestant sold three items in two rounds to a live auction crowd.

Emerging as champion was Jamie Stanek from Victor, Montana. Travis Jeppesen, Ronan, Montana native, was 1st Runner-Up. Dan Goss, Sidney, Montana finished as 2nd Runner-Up. The Rookie of the Year award went to Justin Fuhrman from Glasgow, Montana, a recent graduate of the Western College of Auctioneering.

Since 1961, the MAA has encouraged and maintained high ethical standards of its members, while aiding them in improving their auctioneering skills and advancing in the auction profession. The MAA also strives to make the public aware of the advantage of auction selling, and to improve the business conditions affecting the auction profession. For information on the MAA, including how to become a member, visit their website. www.MontanaAuctioneers.org.

The winner of the Honda Rancher 4-wheeler is Russ Spika, Lewistown, Montana. The Henry Goldenboy .22 LR second-place prize went to Eric Smeltzer of Glendive.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *